Me, Acne & Apple Cider Vinegar – Beating Spots Naturally.

sienna-miller-just-like-a-woman-film-screening-no-make-up-fresh-faced-beauty-look-06-06-2013-jpg_101028Hi guys just thought I’d send in this story of how apple cider vinegar helped me overcome a problem I had been suffering from since I was a teenager.

Spots, no one likes having them but for me it went far past that. Until the age of around 15 I always had soft clear skin but around the time of my 15th Birthday things started to change. Within a year my face resembled a blackberry (no joke) and I was using prescribed creams that seemed to have little to no effect. Fast-forward five years and although not as bad as when a teenager I still have breakouts most weeks and the negative effect this was having on my self-confidence was shocking.

I started avoiding going out at the weekends and removed all mirrors from my house (I know this may sound a bit obsessive, but it only goes to prove the amount this was effecting my day to day life) Well that was until the day I discovered apple cider vinegar. It was my aunty that first mentioned to me that ACV can be used to help treat acne problems, until this point I had only ever used ACV for salad dressing but I was desperate and willing to give anything a go. The stuff I bought was by a brand called Bragg’s, after my research online I discovered that when looking for apple cider vinegar for health uses its important to only buy the raw unpasteurized vinegar containing “the mother” a raw enzyme that contains many of the health giving properties.

What did I do?

Well there seemed to be a huge amount of contradicting information on the best method when treating acne with ACV but I decided a fully integrated approach

  1. The first method I used was the ACV cleanse, to do this make a 50×50 mix of water to ACV cover your whole face in this solution twice a day, I found using a flannel to be the best way to apply it to your face.
  1. The second way was to use ACV as a (on the spot) treatment. This involves using neat apple cider vinegar placed directly on the problem areas using a cotton pad. I found this method to be the most effective at dealing with spots that were already on my face, whereas the cleanser seems to work by keeping my skin oil free and the break outs at bay.

Around two months after starting to use apple cider vinegar daily, I was amazed to see that for the first time in around 6 years my skin was spot free and  had a healthy natural glow. I still find it hard to understand how none of the creams and ointments prescribed by my doctor had little to no effect when a simple liquid that has been used for thousands of years cleared my skin with no nasty side effects. All I can say is hats off to apple cider vinegar.

This entry was posted in ACV & Acne and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Me, Acne & Apple Cider Vinegar – Beating Spots Naturally.

  1. Usually I do not read post on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so!

    Your writing taste has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice post.

Leave a Reply

